Links to external equalities organisations

  • Black and minority ethnic (BME) community organisations
  • Disability organisations
    • Leeds Centre for Integrated Living www.leedscil.org.uk
    • Ouch! (A website from the BBC that reflects the lives and experiences of disabled people) www.bbc.co.uk/ouch
    • DIAL UK (a national network of local disability advice services run by and for disabled people, including information about DIAL Leeds) www.dialuk.info
    • Disability Press (an independent publishing house which aims to provide an alternative outlet for work in the field of disability studies) www.leeds.ac.uk/disability-studies/publish.htm
    • Office for Disability Issues (part of the Department for Works and Pensions) provides useful information. http://odi.dwp.gov.uk/index.php
  • Lesbian, gay, bisexual and trans (LGBT) organisations
    • Gay Leeds www.gayleeds.comYour free guide to everything LGBT in the city of Leeds
    • Leeds Pride www.leedspride.com

      Annual LGBT pride event in Leeds – fast becoming one of Yorkshire’s biggest pride events.  Facebook: ”Leeds Pride”

    • Shout! www.shoutweb.co.uk

      The most popular gay newspaper available in Yorkshire

    • Leeds LGB Switchboard www.leeds-switchboard.org.uk/

      Local listening and information service

    • Mesmac www.mesmac.co.uk

      Sexual health information and resources for gay and bisexual men in the North of England.

    • Leeds Stepping Out http://groups.yahoo.com/group/leedssteppingout/

      Local social group for lesbians and women questioning their sexuality

    • Stonewall www.stonewall.org.uk

      National organisation promoting lesbian, gay and bisexual equality issues

    • Press for Change www.pfc.org.uk

      Campaigning for equality and respect for all trans people

    • Pink Paper www.pinkpaper.com

      Britain’s largest circulation lesbian, gay and bisexual newspaper

    • Experience of LGBT staff and students in Higher Education
      www.ecu.ac.uk/publications/lgbt-staff-and-students-in-he

      National report about issues facings LGBT people in universities

    • Schools OUT www.schools-out.org.uk

      National organisation working for LGBT equality in education

    • Out in Yorkshire www.oiywomen.org 
      Leeds based social group for lesbian, bisexual, transgender women, and women who are questioning their sexuality
    • Broken Rainbow  www.broken-rainbow.org.uk    Advice, support and referral services to LGBT people experiencing homophobic, transphobic and same sex domestic violence.
    • Pink News  www.pinknews.co.uk  Europe’s largest LGBT-targeted news service
    • The Gender Trust www.gendertrust.org.uk  The largest registered charity helping trans people, and all those affected by gender identity issues.
    • Consortium of lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgendered voluntary and community organisations http://lgbtconsortium.org.uk/  National membership organisation focusing on the development and support of LGBT groups.
  • Religious organisations
  • Women’s organisations
    • The Fawcett Society www.fawcettsociety.org.uk

      Campaigns for equality between women and men in the UK on pay, pensions, poverty, justice and politics

    • STAR Project www.starproject.co.uk

      The STAR Project (Surviving Trauma After Rape) is a free support service for women and men, aged 14 and over, in West Yorkshire and offers counselling, emotional and practical support

    • Nari Ekta www.nariekta.org.uk

      A local Asian girl’s/women’s training organisation

    • WCTS www.womenstherapyleeds.org.uk

      Supports the mental health and emotional well-being of women living in Leeds, prioritising those on a limited income

    • HALT (Help, Advice and the Law Team) Domestic Violence www.halt.org.uk

      Leeds-based organisation offering information, advice, advocacy and support to women who have experienced domestic or sexual violence 

    • Hidden Marks http://hiddenmarks.org.uk/2010/ 

      This website is for women students who have experienced (or who know someone who has experienced) rape and sexual assault, domestic violence/abuse from an intimate partner, physical violence (where the perpetrator is not an intimate partner), stalking and sexual harassment.

    • Million Women Rise www.millionwomenrise.com

      A coalition of individual women and representatives from the women’s voluntary and community sector which organises an annual national demonstration against male violence that coincides with International Women’s Day

    • International Women’s Day www.internationalwomensday.com

      Marked on March 8th every year, this is a major day of global celebration for the economic, political and social achievements of women

    • Womens Aid www.womensaid.org.uk

      A national charity working to end domestic violence against women and children. They support a network of services across the UK.

    • Rights of Women www.rightsofwomen.org.uk

      A women’s voluntary organisation committed to informing, educating and empowering women concerning their legal rights

  • Organisations working on all equalities issues
    • Equality Challenge Unit www.ecu.ac.uk

      Works with universities and Higher Education sector organisations, undertaking projects and research and providing practical guidance on equality issues

    • Equality and Human Rights Commission www.equalityhumanrights.com

      A national public sector organisation set up to protect individuals against discrimination, enforce the laws on equality and promote fairness and human rights for everyone 

  • Forced marriage 
Tell a friend
  1. (required)
  2. (valid email required)
  3. (required)
  4. (valid email required)